FOTA
Friends of the Award

Supporting Young People to Achieve

Friends of the Award in Edinburgh & the Lothians (FOTA) is both a not-for-profit company, limited by guarantee, and a charity. This provides both a robust financial structure and reporting system and the ability to fundraise to support our ambitions to make the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award and other youth awards accessible to all.

FOTA was established in 1998 with the remit to support the operation of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award throughout the Edinburgh and Lothians area. The charity has a Board of Directors and Management Committee composed entirely of volunteers. Board Members come from a variety of professional backgrounds – and give very generously of their time to manage and support the work of FOTA.

FOTA is partly funded by charitable donations and sponsorship. Within this new funding landscape we are building up our ability to generate some of our own funds through a variety of means.

Within recent years we have secured funding to extend the reach of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award to more disadvantaged young people – working with NHS Lothian’s CAMHS (Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service) and a variety of local youth projects (allowing people outwith mainstream schooling to complete their Duke of Edinburgh’s Award).

“Friends of the Award have provided significant 'added value' to the delivery of the Duke of Edinburgh's Award in Edinburgh over a number of years. Through their innovative work they now have significant expertise in successfully using the Duke of Edinburgh's Award as a method of engaging marginalised young people, building capacity through partnership working and supporting volunteers.”
Barry Fisher
Director - Scotland, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

Staff Team

Douglas Jardine

Project Manager
douglas.jardine@fota.org.uk

Joan Alexander

JASS Development Officer
joan@jasschools.org.uk

Neil Birch

Expedition Co-ordinator
neil.birch@fota.org.uk

Christine Chesterman

Development Officer
christine.chesterman@fota.org.uk

Ant Mayer

Development Officer
ant.mayer@fota.org.uk

David Lane

Storeperson
kit.store@fota.org.uk

Christine Carlton

Finance Officer
christine.carlton@fota.org.uk

John Bamford

JASS Administrator
john.bamford@fota.org.uk

Pam Waugh

Administrator
pam.waugh@fota.org.uk